Type keyword(s) to search

S03.E06: Man Vs. Scale

• Start Topic

Here's a preview of the skin removal discussion:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AC8VUoDE0oo

Amy needs to get to her goal weight before doing that.  I know on My 600 Pound Life, Dr. Now always lets them get skin-removal surgery before the goal, but that never made sense to me.

And how is Amy going to pay for it?  Dr. Now or the show probably pays for those, but will this show pay for it? 

Maybe if they can extend it into an exciting two-part episode.  Either that, or Amy will set up a Go-Fund-Me.

• LOL 2
  • Love 6
1 minute ago, Gemma Violet said:

And how is Amy going to pay for it?

She'll be pregnant before she figures out how to pay for skin removal surgery. Her skin is still attached to fat at this point. I'm not a doctor but I think she's got a weigh to go before a doctor will do skin removal. I could be 100% wrong (probably am) but it's JMOO

• Love 11

My son is having the skin removal done. He lost a lot of weight, has kept it off, and the skin is loose and wrinkly. The three problem areas are abdomen, underarms, and thighs. 

The surgery is being done by a plastic surgeon with experience in body contouring because it's important to minimize the scarring as much as possible. While Jr. has excellent health insurance, this surgery is considered cosmetic, so he is fighting to get at least some of it covered. Still, most will be out of pocket, and it's expensive.

He had the arms and abdomen done at the same time. For a week, he was helpless, so Mr. B&G and I had to stay with him at home day and night. He was also in a lot of pain. The thighs may or may not be easier.