Type keyword(s) to search

S03.E09: Highwire

• Start Topic

The "D average" is such a heartbreaker example of bad TV writing.

I also want to roll my eyes at how literal the tightrope metaphor is, but as a college freshman I was once roped into a promotional photo shoot for scholarship kids where they made us balance books on our heads. You know, to show that academics are a balancing act? Stuff!

• Love 2

As a college professor (at BU no less, ha), I was really struck by what was considered a college-worthy GPA in this episode (and, along the same lines, in my college applying days a couple years after this ep) - I watched this one a bit ago, but didn't Ms. Teasley say that someone's C average was totally fine for USC or the like?! I may confusing Steve's D- with Brandon's B and splitting the diff, but in any event - the benchmarks you needed to get into a good college have skyrocketed exponentially since then and these convos really kinda shocked me!

Ahh who knows. TV shows do whatever regarding college. It's best not to think about it. 

Though sadly gotta go with Brandon on this mainly because I have a sister who got things like trips, cars and all that jazz. I had to earn it and it sucked seeing her get all the stuff. So basically Brandon had to see his sister go to Paris after sneaking into Mexico with the Stick Insect. But whatever.

Andrea is way too neurotic and I really don't give a hoot about her story lines.

Always thought Brandon was smart but of course he's no David Silver or Clare Arnold, so smart that they can skip grades.  

CliffsNotes for Of Mice and Men?? It's like 40 pages long. I'd accept them for an Ayn Rand, maybe. Dumb Brandon and his B brain.

To be fair. People used a lot of cliffnotes in my final year of high school. Just saves time with so many other subjects, even the really smart people used it. I guess they couldn't think of something for Cliffsnotes and a book.