Type keyword(s) to search

S03.E06: Bachmanity Insanity

• Start Topic

(edited)

It would be, if he wasn't written to be the stupidest human being on the planet. That party- and the blog- would have eaten up a tidy sum, it should be nowhere near even what was left after taxes and that house.  Also what kind of shitty business manager lets you blow through $20M before he says anything?  What deserving target is Mike Judge "satirizing" here, dumb people who are gullible and easy prey to financial con artists?  Wow, so brave, Judge.  So brave.

The whole reporter thing was absolutely ridiculous too; leaving aside that yet again none of them displayed an ounce of foresight or common sense in considering the NDA... there is no surer way to prove you were the exact person who violated your NDA than to suddenly spend $500K "acquiring" the blog that published the story.  That's like a needle up and walking out of a haystack of its own accord!  Also, while I'm no lawyer nor legal eagle, and while I'm aware reporters can be jailed for not revealing sources when it applies to a criminal proceeding (i.e., the state wants to compel disclosure), I've never heard of that in a civil case when the reporter was a defendant.  A quick look at California's shield laws seems to me to suggest that Hooli has basically no leg to stand on, unless they can provide evidence of falseness in the story, and the need to know the leaker's identity outweigh public interest (which would be significant public interest: a major search engine tampering with results is exactly the kind of action that whistleblower protections are for).  I don't think Hooli could legitimately claim any of the following:

The Reporter's Privilege is a qualified, not absolute, privilege in all situations. In California, a court will only require a newsgatherer to reveal sources and unpublished information if:
1. The information is relevant and goes to the heart of the plaintiff's claim