Type keyword(s) to search

S01.E05: Earthshine

• Start Topic

Enough already with weepy Finola and the calls with her sister! I suppose in this episode there was supposed to be some relevance to the plot, with chief villain singing the Spanish song while waiting for transport. But if this was meant to make me care about the personal relationships, it didn't work. The only thing I liked about the Spanish song element was that I could understand all the words, despite it being decades since I studied Spanish in school.

And I love NYC, but it would have been more interesting if they hadn't been able to stop part of Manhattan from disappearing.

• Love 7

Love how they don't even bother to evacuate people when a hunk of the city's going to be sucked up into a wormhole. And once again Our Heroes figure stuff out - all Bryan has to do is wander around in the basement and lo! he spots the piece of debris stuck to the metal support.

I had almost no idea what was going on, and is this the first we've heard about SMERSH, I mean INFLUX? 

It's a miracle Fiola had time to chase after the bad guy, what with her teary-eyed worrying about her undead dad and sharing childhood memories with her crazy sister. Ugh.

• LOL 1
  • Love 6

So, one question
Am I correct in thinking that the bald man who shot himself in the head "for the cause" appeared in a later scene on the street in Manhattan, presumably as a clone?
If so, the writers need a stern talking to about how this cheapens on-screen death for the viewers and makes them not care.

I like that this page has #1, #2, and #3 versions of the song translation to click on. Skimming them quickly gives a bit more sense of emotion and meaning. 

Assuming this episode wasn't any better than the others, I think I've discovered a recipe for watching the show without hate-watching (most of) it: