Type keyword(s) to search

S01.E04: Articles of Faith

• Start Topic

The Brobergs fight to restore normalcy as they prepare to face B. in court; Jan's anxiety about the mission snowballs with time; Mary Ann's unanswered questions about Mexico and growing disconnect with Bob lead her to a gut-wrenching decision.

Air Date: October 06 2022

B is truly a POS and his wife is right behind him. 

As a lawyer, I totally understood the lawyer’s frustration when he said “you didn’t send the original!!”. I don’t know why her parents are so concerned about this “marriage”, B is already married, no marriage would be valid, and she didn’t even go to the courthouse. It was all a fraud- but again these people are not sophisticated. 

9 hours ago, Armchair Critic said:

I could sympathize with their lawyer's frustration with the Brobergs. They let B lie in bed with Jan because of some therapy? smdh

I also like that the lawyer pointed out that he was of the same faith and that didn’t have anything to do with it. I also liked that the FBI agent pointed out that we trust people who are familiar to us. 

So far I think Bob is more understandable than Mary-Ann. Bob realizes he made a mistake trusting B, wants to stay away from him, tried to make things right- he went to the church elders because he didn’t want anything he did to be used as blackmail to hurt the family or stop B from being prosecuted. Bob is TRYING. Mary-Ann has her damn head in the sand. I wonder how much gender dynamics play into this (especially within their cultural group), Bob was attracted to B too, but he has a stronger sense of himself and pull towards what he thinks his responsibilities are. Maybe that’s because Bob & B are social equals. 

• Love 5

Wait! Jan was not sexually assaulted during the 1st kidnap?

ETA: No penetration but the Brobergs were in denial re other forms of sexual abuse.

And the pills were purely antihistamines? 😳

I don’t believe Bob and Mary Ann were that naive. Sorry.