Type keyword(s) to search

S09.E02: The Invitationals - Part 2

I enjoyed the episode.

DH and I had big reactions ( in the good way) to Sammy Obeid. "You're Muslim; you can't have beef!" Starting from Ten Deep to the finish, we couldn't believe it was as funny as it was. We even liked the triangle/square math joke!

Were there fewer "mini-documentaries" (TM Jesselnik) this time out? If seemed like it to me. (Andy Erikson and Tony Baker?)

Loved when the audience was jumping on the "ooooooh!" joke; that was fun! Once, after that, Keenan was describing something to another comic and I was hoping the audience would jump in with another "oooooh!" *g*

I missed if Ham Lake was h-a-m or Hamm, like the beer.

Ready for next week!

• Love 2

I liked Andy, but I can understand if she bugs to some people. I like quirky. I paid money to see Maria Bamford live, and that's the parallel I choose to draw.

I also dug Sammy Obeid, mostly because I have a math degree too. I hope he has more material up his sleeve, or he'll be sunk in the semis.

It still seems like Norm is on something, and I don't think it's an act. Jeselnik was okay this week. Still can't believe he's hosting. Look up his material . . . that guy can get dark really quickly.

• Love 2
(edited)

I enjoyed the episode, because I thought the comedians were funny (most of them, anyway).

I think the judges have a problem because it's a pre-selected group of at least basically competent contestants, including some people who've been around quite a while. If it was an open call they'd have a variety of people some of whom are great, others who are are extremely inexperienced, self-deluded, or otherwise extreme duds. So the judges don't get a lot of levels to go for in their reactions, and are in the weird position of having to either be bland and tell everyone they're good, or come up with "constructive critiques" for people who have already been selected for being good.