Type keyword(s) to search

Weight Loss Support Thread

TWOP had a version of this thread but instead of a more formal once a week table maybe something a bit less formal. If you are looking for some support while getting healthy let us know.

I am sure we need some formal disclaimer but I am not a lawyer and I did not stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night. How about this, be nice to each other and there are no prizes for the person who loses the most.

• Love 1

I am doing the Slow Carb plan from The Four Hour BodyThe first time I dropped about 40 lbs but I stopped doing it and slowly gained it back over several holidays, vacations, and a house renovation.  The gist of it is lots of veggies and legumes, no carbs or sugar, exercise for 6 days a week. Then once a week, you can eat the stuff you have been craving (but you still have to do your exercise)!

I have been on it again for about 3 or 4 weeks and have lost a little under 10 lbs. The cheat days make your weight go back up, but usually under what you were before. I'm thinking of skipping the cheat day and just doing a cheat meal once or twice a week to see how that affects the weight loss.

I have a FitBit Force and average around 12K steps a day, usually from jogging/walking at an indoor track near my house. My wife and friend run 5Ks every weekend, but I usually just do 1 or 2 a year.

• Love 2

Interesting, Chip. I agree that holidays, vacations, and house stuff (I moved last year) make it hard to maintain a decent weight.

I was one of those skinny people who could eat whatever she wanted without gaining, etc., etc., etc., hate me, hate me, hate me. And then I turned 40 and gained about 40 pounds. Now I yo-yo about 15 pounds each year, with the worst time being fall and winter, which is when we take our vacation and do the holiday visiting. The 15 pounds matter to me because of clothing fit and because I feel better at the low end of the range.