Type keyword(s) to search

Harold Finch: The Machine's Daddy

I almost called this thread "Harold Finch: Exposition Guy" since they make Finch explain most of the technical concepts on the show to the audience via his dialogue with the team. I think Michael Emerson does a fairly good job delivering that sort of dialogue without sounding too condescending.

Emerson is an acting god, and I derive tremendous pleasure seeing him behind Finch's vests and ties.

I have a personal irony story behind this character, that other viewers may share.  Back in the days when he was the lovingly terrible Benjamin Linus, Emerson gave an interview in which he disclosed his sheer ignorance of all things having to do with... oh, god... computers.  An endearing doofus just about able to send emails and read the news.

I've been laughing my ass off since 2011 seeing him in this role.  And he sells Finch so well.

I have loved Micheal Emerson since he was a "Hey, it's that guy!" to me appearing on Law & Order and other shows.  Then he was Ben Linus on Lost - there may be a lot wrong with that show but this character was not one of them.  He continues to shine here in POI.  Finch is one of my favorite characters, period, and not just on this show. So much complexity, so much depth, but still not showing much to others.  He's a hard nut to crack and with reason, but ME shows all these subtleties.  

• Love 1

Been watching reruns on and off the last few months and I've come to adore Finch. I love the way he speaks, the ways he can be quietly bad ass, the way he sees and assesses. It's not easy playing such a self-contained character and Emerson makes it effortless. It's such a treat watching his scenes, especially with Reese.

• Love 2
(edited)