Type keyword(s) to search

Dazed and Confused (1993)

Hiyo
  • Start Topic

Not just giving us a young Matthew McConaughey and one his more famous catchphrases, this film also has early appearances by Jason London, Ben Affleck, Milla Jovovich, Cole Hauser, Parker Posey, Adam Goldberg, Nicky Katt, Anthony Rapp, Joey Lauren Adams, and Rory Cochrane, among others. Renée Zellweger too!

Dazed and Confused plays like a documentary to me because I graduated from high school in a small Texas city in 1975.  Using pliers to zip up your jeans--check.  Parties where everybody just stands in a field or leans on cars--check.  Driving up and down the drag, over and over, all night, drinking beer and smoking weed--check.  Driving to other cities for concerts--check.  (Although we would get our tickets by mail order.) 

The soundtrack was close to perfect, with the known absence of Led Zeppelin.  And for me, I would need some early Queen in there, but props to Linklater for Rick Derringer.  That's authentic.

As if that weren't enough, I'd lived in Austin for years when the movie came out, and recognized many of the places where they shot.  I lived right near Top Notch (which my friends and I always called Tip Top for no good reason at all).  That place was really something.  Actually, it's still there, but I haven't been in years.

Back then, it was family owned.  It was an order-at-the-counter place and the older lady who used to take the orders was surly, but not a charming surly.