Type keyword(s) to search

I’m not good at coming up with catchy thread titles, and also, feel free to move this if it’s not in the right place. 

I know we have a stan culture thread for celebrity fans but I’m curious about other people’s experiences in fandoms, the good, bad, and the ugly. Or the “just fine.” I’ve been in the world for about two years myself, starting when I started writing fanfiction again in 2021. (I wrote it once when I was a teenager and I always hope it’s not anywhere to be found online anymore.) 

Without naming fandoms, here’s what I’ve encountered:

The good: I have made a few friends from sharing our like (or dislike/hate watches) of shows or characters. I also have enjoyed being a part of some general fanfiction communities where people of all fandoms and writing abilities come together and discuss writing and life, and the fandom discussion just comes on the side. I look forward to different fic writing events and figuring out how I can interpret the prompts.

The bad: Like anything else, fandom can be very cliquey and closed off. I have struggled to fit in or feel accepted and I find it’s hard to keep track of all the unwritten rules and terms. If I had never started writing fic again, I wouldn’t know what an “anti” was or what a “pro shipper” was and I don’t even really care to this day what they mean. Sometimes being out of the loop is nice. 🤣