Type keyword(s) to search

Mythology, Fairy Tales and Epic Poem Books

• Start Topic

Does anyone read books of this nature?

I love 'em. I read Aesop's Fable, The Odyssey, Tales from the Arabian Night and Grimm's Fairy Tales over the Winter. Except for the Arabian Nights, they were all wonderful and inspiring, if dark. I thought Arabian Nights was pretty boring, so I am glad there were only 20 short stories in there. Sinbad and Alladin were big disappointments.

The others were cool though. I ended up buying collections of Norse mythology, Hans Christian Anderson and Chinese mythology. When I checked out, the cashier asked if I was a teacher. Again. Heh.

Does anyone have any good reccomendations? Or things to stay away from?

• Love 1

I read them all the time!  I've read most of the big Greek epics, like the Illaid and the Odyssey, but if you want a change in mythology, read The Ramayana.  It's a Hindu epic and while the treatment of women still grate on my nerves, I still love it.

• Love 1

I haven't read that one, I've heard its quite the tale though. In fact, I've had a difficult time trying to find translated versions of any epics other then the Greek epics and Beowulf. I buy mostly from brick and mortor stores though. I tried searching for them online, but sometimes all I end up with is essays and examinations and being unsure of what to get. 

Where did you find your copy? Have you read The Bamboo Cutter's Daughter? I really want a copy of it to read. (>_<)

I am also curious if you noticed any overlap, like there was a story in Grimm's Fairy Tales that was straight from Arabian Nights. I need to look up it title, but it was clearly modeled from Ali Baba and the Fourty Thieves.

• Love 1

I'm a big fan of vampire folklore.  I mainly focus on Slavic stories, and they're legit scary, but the vampires from Asia are the stuff nightmares are made of and it is so. much. fun.