Type keyword(s) to search

S12.E09: The Citation Negation

Sheldon and Amy are devastated after learning from a Russian paper that Super Asymmetry has already been discovered and disproven. Also, ultra-competitive Bernadette asks Stuart’s girlfriend, Denise, to teach her how to beat Howard in a popular videogame.

Airdate: Thursday, November 15, 2018

39 minutes ago, PaulaO said:

I’ve been a professional librarian for over 30 years.  I find it hard to believe that Cal Texh doesn’t license every database in the world.  No need to manually verify citations—scientific databases go back to the 1900s.  And I hope Amy and Sheldon have actually read the papers they are citing....

Heh. I've worked in academic libraries since the early 1990s and earned my MLS IN 2000 (second career). Even if we fanwanked that they were checking the few that were not online: Why were the stacks so dark? And no way would they have left the library with the journal volume; they would have scanned the article and emailed and printed it—or maybe just taken pictures of the pages with a cellphone.

I really liked Penny's topknot hairdo with her simple black outfit in the hallway when Leonard was about to knock on Sheldon and Amy's door.

There was one line that made me chuckle, but I can't recall it. Maybe someone else here will. 

This episode seemed longer. Maybe because there weren't too many plots? 

I liked that we got a believeable and amusing reason for comic-book-store-girl's attraction to Stewart.

• Love 18

I was hoping that Howard misinterpreted the information.  I guess that would be a stretch to get that much of it wrong though.  Still, I would've have tried to find another professor in their college that might be fluent in Russian (or know of someone who is) to look it over.   

7 minutes ago, shapeshifter said:

I liked that we got a believeable and amusing reason for comic-book-store-girl's attraction to Stewart.