Type keyword(s) to search

Crashing - General Discussion

Meredith Quill
  • Start Topic

In the premiere of a comedy about a timid, aspiring comedian whose life is turned upside down by his wife's affair, Pete is consoled and taken in by Artie Lange as he struggles to find his place in the chaotic New York stand-up scene.

31 minutes ago, bilgistic said:

Am I the only one who watched his talk show? Did I dream he had one?

I watched it! I really think if it had been an hour it would have done better. They always seemed short for time. 

This was really disappointing.  I like Pete Holmes but somehow he was the least interesting person by a long shot on his own show.  I'll hag on for a bot hoping it get better or at least the other characters bring the funny.

• Love 1

It was a fair setup, I guess. I taped it because it was on after Girls. Sunday Nights. HBO. Since I'm a Pete newbie, I needed a bit more to see that he's actually funny. I didn't get that here.  The episode came alive when Artie showed up halfway through. And I hate to say it, but while not condoning cheating, it was a little too easy to see why his wife was frustrated.

I still think  the show has potential if we get to see his stand up evolve and improve. 

Edited by vb68
  • Love 1

I mostly liked it, I can see where there's potential. It picked up when Artie Lange showed up, he surprised me because I don't recall finding him funny in the past. We cracked up at "What do you mean your wife supports you? You mean emotionally?” The best parts were when he was interacting with the other comedians so I think that will be what I enjoy in the show. 

Is it true that Pete Holmes is in his early 30s? I thought he was well into his 40s!

1 hour ago, msani19 said:

it true that Pete Holmes is in his early 30s? I thought he was well into his 40s!