Type keyword(s) to search

Time: The Kalief Browder Story - General Discussion

• Start Topic

How brave was this kid that he refused to take a plea?  

I hope some real reforms happen in the criminal justice system.  I work in the legal field and the more exposure I have to stories like this, the more I feel led to volunteer with the Innocence Project.  

• Love 6

And there seem to be many other stories similar to this.  Watched just the 1st episode so far and need to catch up.  I'm glad this is an in-depth look at this case and the system, but on the other hand, it does seem to be a little drawn-out and repetitive.  I'll reserve judgment until I see the next episode in my queue.  I was sort of confused about Kalief taking the bakery truck.  Was he convicted of something for that? 

Any why, why, why set such a high bail for allegedly stealing a backpack?  We'd rather incarcerate someone for how many $$ a day just to make sure they don't go anywhere?

• Love 1
5 hours ago, MoreCoffeePlease said:

And there seem to be many other stories similar to this.  Watched just the 1st episode so far and need to catch up.  I'm glad this is an in-depth look at this case and the system, but on the other hand, it does seem to be a little drawn-out and repetitive.  I'll reserve judgment until I see the next episode in my queue.  I was sort of confused about Kalief taking the bakery truck.  Was he convicted of something for that? 

Any why, why, why set such a high bail for allegedly stealing a backpack?  We'd rather incarcerate someone for how many $$ a day just to make sure they don't go anywhere?