Forums forums
PRIMETIMER
Whimsy

Small Business Owners Unite!

I thought it may be a nice idea to have a thread for small business owners to come to for advice- both getting and giving.  As a teeny-tiny business owner myself (not my full-time job), I am interested in learning from others who have similar businesses. 

In order to avoid this page just being filled with spam and website links- there is one rule (for now): NO posting your website link in this thread.  I will delete immediately.  Instead, link your page on your profile and if anyone is interested, they can visit your profile and click the link (see my profile for an example).

This thread isn't to promote your business- but to learn from other business owners and to help out with your own experiences.

Great idea!

I'm a self employed designer who started out freelancing on the side but was laid off many years later, so it is my only income now. My advice for anyone starting a business is pretty common-sense stuff. Consult with a tax professional well before tax season. Research the regulations for where you live (city, county, state, country -- depending on your business, you may have to file papers with any or all of these). Keep your business finances separate from your personal. Depending on your business, you might wish to take legal action to protect yourself in case a client decides to sue -- you don't want to risk losing your personal assets. Developing a business plan is a good idea, and something I wish I'd done.

• Like 2

There's a business idea I've been thinking about but I wondered if it was feasible.