Type keyword(s) to search

Fit To Fat To Fit - General Discussion

• Start Topic

This show is fundamentally flawed, and I can say that from a place of knowledge because I am a personal trainer who has actually struggled with my weight (even since becoming a personal trainer). They seem to be taking trainers who have never had a weight problem, and who hate food (let's be real, they HATE FOOD, and therefore have no comprehension of what it is to be addicted to it). Let me count the ways that the trainers' weight loss will bear no resemblance to their clients: 

1) They are starting out and maintaining a high level of muscle mass throughout their weight gain, which will allow them to burn more calories from the get-go.

2) They are knowledgeable and comfortable with gyms, exercise and nutrition.

3) They ENJOY working out and eating healthy foods. Built-in motivation.

4) They probably have a naturally high metabolism and athleticism.

5) Their bodies are generally far healthier than people who have dealt with excess fat for decades.

6) They are repulsed by their fatter bodies and have seen themselves in peak condition, so it's not a pipe dream.

I could go on. I would be worried that the trainers will be able to lose the weight more easily than their clients and figure "see, I knew it wasn't that hard, fat people are just lazy." The show could have found trainers who are legit and who have actually struggled with weight, even if it's just a female trainer who has been pregnant or something and had to lose the weight after giving birth. So yeah, I hope they address some of these issues on the show.