Forums forums
PRIMETIMER
Joe

The Works of JRR Tolkien

All of them, because while I haven't read them all, I've enjoyed everything I have read.

So I've been listening to Corey Olsen's seminars on the Silmarillion. Very interesting. But in episode six, there's an interesting duscussion about subcreation, and why creators go bad. To one extent or another, Melkor, Aulë, Feanor. It's a pattern. And there was a moment when it suddenly sounded not just familiar, but personal.

I'm a writer myself. Nothing of mine is in publishable shape, let alone anywhere near the quality of Tolkien. But I spend a lot of time thinking about creation and implication. So it struck me as a bit of metacommentary on the craft. You can create something awesome, like the Lord of the Rings. Or, what's the other significant book written in the 20th century? Yes, I'm going to Godwin myself, Mein Kampf. From a certain point of view, Hitler was a creator gone bad.

Am I overthinking it, or do I have something approaching a valid point?

On a possibly equally controversial topic, I like Tom Bombadil. He gets cut out of adaptations for a perfectly good reason, he wanders around singing about his own clothes. He's immune to the power of the ring. He was shoehorned in because Tolkien liked him. But he does have one interesting trait. He demonstrates that not everything is known, not everything is classifiable. The David Day book and MERP both call him a Maia, but that's not right. If neither Tolkien or Christopher put a label on him, it's not right for anyone else to do so either. And that mystery, that sense of the unknown, is why I like him and his brief appearance.

I like him because his creation allows me to watch Stephen Colbert spout lines of poetry like nobody's business. But I sometimes find myself skimming over him when I'm reading.

• Like 1