Forums forums
PRIMETIMER
Maherjunkie

Is there a lawyer on the board?

I started this thread for those moments you wonder if it was legal in real life.  For example, is it really ok for a landlord to simply open up someone's apt?

I am not a lawyer, but the writers freely admitted that they made stuff up to fit their storyline.

I can say that in most of the leases I have signed, the landlord is supposed to give 24hour's notice, unless it is an emergency. Then again, the guys who spray for bugs seem to wander in at will, so.

• Like 1

I live in Florida; even with impeccable hygiene the battle against bugs is at best a draw. So every place I have lived at here does regular spraying.

Edited by Fosca
  • Like 1

....raises hand.....   attorney here.  Although this is not my area, landlord-tenant laws will vary from state to state.  My guess would be that generally landlords can enter a tenant's premises in cases of emergency (like, a suspected gas leak), to make repairs, to show the property to prospective buyers/new tenants, or if the landlord reasonably suspects that the tenant has vacated/abandoned the premises.  I would not be surprised if the law (statutes and case law) distinguish between residential leases and commercial leases.  I'm not sure if a landlord could simply insert a clause in a lease whereby the tenant grants consent to the landlord entering (without notice) for other reasons (or for no reason at all), but it wouldn't surprise me if such a provision was upheld as long as the tenants knowingly waived their right to notice.

But, again, this isn't my area of law, so I'm really just guessing.....

• Like 1

Frankly, I never really thought about whether any of the characters, be they cops or the lawyers, could really do this in real life, because, hello, television show.  Also, for every time Jack, or a defense attorney, would yell "withdrawn!" before the judge would rule on the objection, happened in real life, the case would become a mistrial.